Leica Adventures in Equipment Acquisitions

russelljtdyer

Regular
Name
Russell J.T. Dyer
I enjoy photography. I like some of the photos I have taken; I'm even proud of some of them. But I'm more into the adventures associated with photography. I like every aspect of the process involved in making photographs. I like finding a good shot: determining where to position myself with the camera, deciding when the light will be best, waiting for people to happen into a good position, and other such factors. I like also the adventure of acquiring photography equipment: deciding on the best camera for my needs and style, reading reviews of lenses, watching for a good price for a particular used lens, and everything else that goes into assembling the best equipment I can manage to buy to take good photos.

I mentioned recently in another thread how I have been working for a couple of years to transition my equipment from Canon SLR cameras and Zeiss ZE lenses, to Leica M-mount cameras and lenses. That's still in process, but the main goals related to this adventure for me in photography equipment acquisition has been completed with the arrival two days ago of a Leica M9 camera. I've been playing with it for a few days now, just at home when I have time. Below is a test shot I made this afternoon showing the setting sunlight on a poinsettia plant on my dining room table with my living room in the background.

russelljtdyer-20140328-leicam9-test-poinsettia.jpg
Join to see EXIF info for this image (if available)