Fuji Advice please: X-A1 with XC 50-230mm Lens for shooting Bodybuilding competition

ktang

Rookie
Hi, Rico and other gurus. Could you please give your expert opinions on how best I can get good images with the Fujifilm X-A1 with the XC50-230mm zoom kit lens to be used at a bodybuilding competition?

I am a newbie to mirrorless cameras, and I have been using those superzooms like the Canon SX30 in the past, for shooting my friends who are competing from the audience stand. I was hunting for another replacement and wanted to buy the Fujifilm HS50EXR as I theorised that the Phase Detection and manual zoom would really help with the tricky light situation better than the conventional contrast detection.

Anyway, when I saw the X-A1 with dual lens (XC 16-50mm and XC 50-230mm) bundled deal for less than US$500, it was too good to pass, and I thought the 230mm at max zoom should be enough as long as I sit closer to the stage. In the past, my Canon struggled with noise at Auto ISO going up to 800, and the slow AF speed was often unable to lock on due to the bright overhead highlight lights and the oiled bodies of the competitor bouncing off too much light. Setting Face Detection on the Canon helped, but I often had to set it to ISO400 and also EV -2 to ensure that the pictures come out not overly overexposed and also have a good chance of focusing correctly.

I wish to take much better pictures this time with the new X-A1 I bought a week ago. Kindly advise please how best I could do so, like what to look out for, what modes to use on the camera, and whether I should try manual zoom instead (I hope not, I still haven't used the camera for more than 10 shots yet), capture in JPEG or both RAW and JPEG, etc.

I have a brand new 64MB SDXC 95Mbps card which be more than enough for 2 days of competition including videos of them free posing.

Many thanks in advance for the expert advice!