Fuji Apple Support for X-Trans Now Available

flysurfer

Hall of Famer
I already mentioned that Fuji has been working with Apple to provide good X-Trans support. As of today, Apple Camera Raw (4.05) is supporting the X-Pro1, X-E1, X100S and X20. My initial tests have shown outstanding results. Of course, this needs quite some further testing to reach a definitive conclusion.

This is encouraging. Any thing that could potentially help me come to grips with XTrans RAWs would be useful. Not only am I a Fuji XTrans newbie, I'm also an iMac newbie having only switched about a month ago...this update, is it for a standalone program/app already within every iMac or is it only for Aperture ??

New to Mac and never used Aperture so just trying to place this.

Thank you.

This is encouraging. Any thing that could potentially help me come to grips with XTrans RAWs would be useful. Not only am I a Fuji XTrans newbie, I'm also an iMac newbie having only switched about a month ago...this update, is it for a standalone program/app already within every iMac or is it only for Aperture ??

New to Mac and never used Aperture so just trying to place this.

Thank you.

Apple's Digital Camera RAW Compatability Update 4.0.5 adds RAW support for Apple's photo editing apps. This includes iPhoto and Aperture.

Aperture does not come preloaded with your new iMac. However, iPhoto does.

Enjoy!

On par with Lightroom 4.4. Maybe partly better. I prefer it over C1.

People are posting pictures showing big CA/purple fringing as well as coor bleeding in the Apple version versus none from Adobe's. On the other hand it seems that the colors are richer out of the box.

People are posting pictures showing big CA/purple fringing as well as coor bleeding in the Apple version versus none from Adobe's. On the other hand it seems that the colors are richer out of the box.

I think this is a modified DCRAW algorithm. There was always speculation that Apple Camera Raw is based on DCRAW, aynway.