Fuji converting from raw

don_h

Rookie
Hi there…

Your flickr photos look incredibly clear/sharp. What converter do you use? I'm a photoshop user myself, wondering if you are using RAW or jpeg, and what you might suggest for settings / sharpening / etc.

I find the skin tones less pleasing with the x-cams (of which i now own 3) than with my canon stuff.

thanks!

I use up to 8 different converters. The converter that was used is usually stated with each picture. So it totally depends. :)

Thank you for your reply!

as a professional photographer, i often have to process many hundreds of images from a shoot. so i'm looking for a fairly easy solution. right now it's photomechanical and photoshop or bridge.
hmmm

There was a post the other day about Raw conversion and sharp images and the best software to use, apparently Fuji did some tests and found the Silkypix Raw editor bundled with the X100s is better for sharp images than Lightroom / Aperture / Photoshop.

I have not tried it yet myself but the poster responded with the suggested settings below.

Anyway, suggested settings on Silkypix V3 were:

"Open SK V3, select a RAW image and hit "Development" (assuming you do nothing else to it and merely want to save it as a jpeg)
Where it says in the Development dialogue box "Unsharp Mask" set it to Amount = 200, Radius = 0.6 and Threshold = 0.
As said, can't say for sure but at first glance (and you can preview it side by side with the original before committing) it improves fine detail. This can be set to batch too, so might at least allow for half-way decent images".

Interested myself to see if this is true.

I have been working with Silkypix and ACR v 8 point whatever it is. Maybe I am not using s.pix to its full potential but the results in acr have been very acceptable indeed. Try turning off all sharpening in camera and acr. Then use some high levels of sharpening after doing everthing else to the image. Works for me.