Straps Disintegrated Wrist Strap

AmritR

Regular
Name
Amrit
Something unexpected happened. This weekend this recently bought wrist strap from Op/Tech disintegrated. The camera didn’t fall, but a unpleasant surprise nonetheless.

If you use one, good to check if you can’t pull off the ‘rivets’. (not sure if that’s the correct word). I can basically put my nail below it, and push them apart.

I’ve been using these kind of wrist straps for more then 10 years. I have some from Caruba, which seem to be stronger.

IMG_5244.jpeg
Join to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Sometimes these double domed rivets won't set properly. Either they've not been struck hard enough to form a secure bond or they're not the correct length for the thickness of the material.
Personally I prefer stitching over rivets.

If you have the rivet setter tools, and the original two halves aren't deformed, you could try setting it again.
Without those tools, you could also just hammer them together, but you'll flatten the domes.

Additionally, if you have straps/cases with older brass domed rivets, the forming of verdigris underneath them can push the rivet apart as well. Always good to check.

Sometimes these double domed rivets won't set properly. Either they've not been struck hard enough to form a secure bond or they're not the correct length for the thickness of the material.
Personally I prefer stitching over rivets.

If you have the rivet setter tools, and the original two halves aren't deformed, you could try setting it again.
Without those tools, you could also just hammer them together, but you'll flatten the domes.

Additionally, if you have straps/cases with older brass domed rivets, the forming of verdigris underneath them can push the rivet apart as well. Always good to check.

A couple good whacks with a rubber mallet can fix that, if you catch it before you lose them, that is. Bummer!