Pentax End of an Era

I am currently wrestling with the same decision, so your story and pictures really struck home (I was going to say 'a chord').

I started playing guitar when I was 11 years old and I was still seriously playing about five or so years ago (I'm currently 58). I thought I'd still be playing when I was in my dotage but in the last few years I have completely lost interest. I think I may have picked up my guitar once in the last year and the callouses I was always so proud of have now disappeared and it is actually painful to play.

It is very hard to let go of something which has been a significant part of your life. However, reading your story it is somewhat comforting to know that others have made the same decision.

Thanks for sharing

LouisB

Several years ago I got hold of a really nice Martin replica, that had a really sweat sound. Only problem was, that I couldn't learn to play guitar. Our family, was doing a lot of van travel across the country, and I became concerned that we would damage it. So, one day, I gave it to a very musical family, that played in the schools of Eastern Kentucky. 30 years later, I still miss it. It's probably worn out by now, and to good use. After all, it's all just "stuff-n-things". Not the essence of life, however pleasant the things may be. :)

I havent really missed the guitar that much, to be honest. It had sat for so long not doing much, I think I had become used to not having it as a daily part of my life. It wasnt a loss of interest, really, there were two things... arthritis, and lung disease that prevents me from singing much anymore. I can barely get a few notes out before I run out of air. (This is also why I have long periods of not shooting, either... just can't manage.)

Lesson: If you smoke, stop now.