First "Serious" Shot with my new X100

entropic remnants

Hall of Famer
Name
John Griggs
Well, here's a first shot, out-of-camera JPG with slight sharpening and curves adjustment is all. My X100 just arrived last night and I must say I'm delighted with it.

ISO 3200, F/4, 1/51 second (yes, that's what the EXIF says, lol) It's uploaded here as an attachment so I think you can click it and see the full size file. [EDIT: no, you can't, sorry]

View attachment 2293

I work as an engineer in a steel mill and when I did my rounds I shot this -- a subject I've shot on several different camera systems. I'm impressed with this on several levels: dynamic range capture, sharpness of the JPG at high ISO, noise control, and so forth.

What you're looking at is about 4 stories tall. The roof with the glowing electrodes swings in and down and the three graphite poles about 2 feet in diameter descend and arc 50 megawatts of electricity into scrap metal to melt it as the first step of turning scrap into new, clean steel. We create a 180 ton batches at a time in this unit and turn one out about every 2 hours or so. That's slow by today's standards but we have a very, very old plant.

In this shot the steel has just been "tapped" into a large ceramic lined bucket called a ladle, and the furnace is being inspected and readied for the next batch and any remaining slag is being poured off the back.

Attachments

• _DSF0094-1.jpg
    _DSF0094-1.jpg
    273 KB · Views: 223
Here's a few more from today. These were processed in Lightroom though -- the first one was just a quick trim in GIMP. At the end is a Lightroom processed version of the first one I shot.

However, these are all still done from JPG's and not my usual RAW's. I have to say this camera has some JPG output that rocks.

9409764089_3264eb3f76_b.jpg

Fujifilm X100 Tests: Ladle "Sanding" by Entropic Remnants, on Flickr

9409763905_c9eaaec3aa_b.jpg

Fujifilm X100 Tests: Fire Breath by Entropic Remnants, on Flickr