Fuji XT1 Nightscapes (from an EM5 convert)

gidferrer

Regular
First of all let me introduce myself. Im Gid Ferrer from Manila, Philippines. I have used a Nikon system since 2007 but eventually shifted to a MFT system last 2012. I have been using an OMD for almost 2 years when I spoke with some good friends Spam Jalandoni and Randall Cipriano (Fuji X Ambassador of the Phils) about the Fuji X system. I was skeptic at the time because the EM5 was a perfect camera for me. Small, lightweight, IBIS, small filters, small tripod etc etc... Then came photoworld. I went to play with theXT1 for 2 hours and it was love at first sight. 3 weeks pass and last monday I had my XT1 with me. A scheduled trip last tues gave way to a hands-on experience for 4 nights. I walled 2 hours everynight in Hong Kong, going up every overpass to get those lightstreaks as we call it. I even went to some observation decks to get a glimpse of the HK skyline from the top.

I would like to share with you the experience that I never had with my EM5. All images here are from RAW converted with ACR, slight editing was made but with Noise Reduction Off (both for high ISO and long exposure), I had to turn these on with the EM5 and may probably use a NR editing software after.

Lets get to it.

HAPPY VALLEY
- A horse race track smack in the middle of the Hong Kong skyline, I took this shot on an observation deck of Central Plaza. I was quite surprised with the amount of detail produced here because I was shooting through 2 inch glass. Reflection was also a headache since it was already dark outside. Had to improvise by using a scarf.
13005595873_bd506241f0_o.jpg
Join to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

ZONE50
-An image focused on the Central District of Hong Kong. This image includes the famous Bank of China (top left) and the IFC (right peeking). This probably is my fave on this set.
13011312855_2e96e244be_o.jpg

DOUBLE VISION