Street Help starting.

Dear family/team/friends/associates/y'all,

A recent message from my daughter has re-kindled a repressed desire in me. So I turn to you for help.

How does a shy person (really shy) overcome that trait to be able to approach people for photographs. It sucks because I LOVE the wonderful variety of humanity - and even many of its individuals - I am okay with small group situations (e.g.- a few friends at dinner, etc.) But approaching a person I have no connection to to ask for a photo is just beyond my conception - I might as well have "Recently Released PERVERT" tattooed on my forehead!!

Has anyone here had to overcome themselves to start taking pictures of people??

Weird also because I was a wedding photographer for awhile. Now my daughter winders why there are no people in my photos.

*Devil's Advocate*

Why is it necessary for you to take photos of people? There are boundlessly many subjects available for enjoyable photography that don't include people.

But approaching a person I have no connection to to ask for a photo is just beyond my conception

Why would you need to, though? If it is not a requirement for your job, then why stress over something you can so easily just ignore and not do?
We all have strengths and weaknesses; rather exploit your strengths than anguish over something out of your comfort zone.

Observe and guess before approaching I'd say. For example in a big city you will usually get people dressing loud who want to be seen and, over 50% of the time, like being seen therefore, would not have a problem having their picture taken, plus they would likely have been approached about this previously. So it wouldn't be unreasonable to approcach in these circumstances. You would have a reason for wanting to photograph. This would usually be because you find something interesting about the person. So there's nothing wrong in explaining the reason why you find them interesting when you approach.