Fuji I' ve given this a thumbs-up...

Lightmancer

Legend
Name
Bill Palmer
The handling of my X-E1 was transformed this week by the arrival of a Thumbs Up EP-9S from Match Technical. I've never used one before, but coming as I do very much from a film background I am used to handling a camera by hooking my thumb on the rewind lever; it is one of the minor frustrations for me that modern digital cameras often have the handling characteristics of a piece of soapstone and I like to have a firm grip. The Thumbs Up is the brainchild of Tim Issac; never met the chap, but I do remember his initial designs for the Leica M8 and M9 to combat their breeze-block handling and I am pleased to see that he has turned those first products into a sensible range that fits on a number of our cameras. The main difference for me is that the weight of the camera is now taken by my thumb and by the heel of my hand; previously my little finger took much of the load, curled up painfully under the corner of the case.

Here is the Thumbs-up in place:

View attachment 10822
X-E1 and Thumbs Up by Lightmancer, on Flickr

...and here is my X-E1 finally fettled to my preference; a decent half-case (Gariz in this instance), Thumbs Up, a wrist strap from RG Lewis in London and a proper metal hood instead of that frustrating plastic jobbie.

I'm ready to roll...

View attachment 10823
X-E1 1 by Lightmancer, on Flickr

I really like the way Match Technical has the little arm with the silicone insert that hooks over the top plate for added support. I'm not crazy (in theory) about how the Lensmate grip clamps on the the hotshoe and even less enamored by the versions that just slip in. It seems to me that too much pressure or even a relatively gentle bump could flex/bend the hotshoe. I definitely plan on picking one up for the X100S. Now the only question is which colour - silver or black?