Leica Leica M9 sensor repair

Jadon.Rosado

Regular
Hello, I’m sure people are already tired of hearing about this particular issue but I might as well get this out there.

But first a brief background of who I am,
My name is Jadon Rosado I’m a camera technician currently working for a shop in Oregon. I’ve been repairing cameras professionally since I graduated highschool (I’m 20 now), I came across some Leica factory manuals and thought myself the ins and outs of the M system by the book. Ive since used my own cameras to experiment different methods for odd ball repairs such as re-cementing/resilvering prisms, blocking framelines and more recently repairing sensors!

Over the past 2 months I’ve been working on a method to replace the corroded s8612 glass in the Leica M9s, I posted some of my later findings in another Thread. About 24 hours after my first post it was announced that kolari vision will replace the glass for $1000 and another company came out a day later saying they’ll do it for $1500. looking into these methods they seem to be much more invasive the latter even seeming very rushed, but who’s to say I’m not going to pay $1600 for something I can do myself so I can’t compare. Anyway, I’m coming out to say that I’ll be offering the repair as well. I’ve put a lot of thought into it and spent possibly too much time testing but I wanted to be sure. This method uses a glass that is similar to the original S8612 with the exception of it having a slightly higher transmittance across the entire visual spectrum. What you as the shooter will notice is a slight increase exposure and a slight drop in contrast due to the wider range. In other words it goes from looking like Kodachrome to looking more like Portra 400. I’ll post some test shots below, I’ll keep this thread updated with when I’m ready to start bringing in repairs for those that are interested!
And I should add that my conversion will only cost $700!
A34637ED-126A-4BF1-B89F-2CD2F776F8A2.jpeg