Apple Mac Mini - which arrangement to use? Processor or storage?

wt21

Hall of Famer
I have a limited budget and am just a hobbyist, so need to keep costs pretty well contained.

I have an M1 MBA, but want to move to a Mini. I've got about $1K to spend.

I can get a refurb M1 mini with 1TB SDD and 16GB RAM

or

I can get a new M2 mini with 500GB SDD and 16GB RAM

My MBA 500GB drive is nearly full, so I need more storage. I also need new external drives because I'm sick of my spinning platters, so will go SSD.

Here's my question - which is better - the external port (TB4) and processor upgrade of the M2 but rely on external storage or get the better internal storage of the M1, but have a slightly slower processor and TB3 ports.

From why I understand the difference between the M1 and M2 is marginal at best - and really only seen at the limits. If it was me, I would go with the M1 and larger SDD, and a second external storage solution.
I agree on the processor, but then I read the thunderbolt ports on the M2 are TB4, which (should be) faster than on the M1, which are TB3. But from what I've read, it looks like the real life speeds are often limited by the drive controllers, so it's more theoretical than practical, and I am thinking getting the 1TB internal storage will be the fastest, but was wondering if I'm missing anything??

edit - to summarize, M2 has theoretically faster external disc access than M1, but it may be more theoretical than reality, and the internal SDD access is faster then either, so bigger internal storage is better?

Keep in mind that eventually Apple will discontinue support for the M1. The M2 will hang in a bit longer before support is discontinued. So if you want to maximize the lifespan of your investment, the M2 is a better choice.