Micro 4/3 My thoughts on the Lumix GX9.

minimalist82

Hey guys, I wanted to share some musings on the Lumix GX9 and share some images.

st_ives_2021-110.jpg
Join to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

I’ve been using it as my primary camera since 2020. I bought it to replace my GX8 and I also owned the GX80. I loved different things about both the GX80 & GX8 but to me the GX9 brought together my most of my favourite features in the older 2 models together. The plus points for me were.
  • Smaller form factor
  • 20mp sensor with no anti aliasing filter
  • Tilting screen
  • 5 axis stabilisation
  • Dedicated exposure compensation wheel
  • Excellent shutter mechanism
  • Fast startup time and snappy performance
  • Dedicated switch for manual / auto focus.
I did prefer the metal build of the GX8 and the ergonomics, but the GX9 feels well built and the smaller form factor is actually better for me in terms of portability. I’m not so worried about the inferior EVF either as I mostly compose with the screen. Weather sealing would have been nice but I can live without it and I haven’t had any issues so far.

P1016815.jpg

The GX9 instantly felt familiar and I've really enjoyed it over the past couple of years. I have it set up perfectly to suit my style and using it is second nature. I never find myself fumbling with settings. I've been really impressed by the output, but then I've never had any issue with the Lumix system in terms of image quality.

st_ives_2021-47.jpg

I use primes exclusively and 80% of the time I use the PL25mm F1.4. To me it feels great, it balance really well and is probably about as a big as I would want on there. the rest of the time I use the PL15mm F1.7, which is also incredible. I'm always torn between those two lenses.

I love the asthetic of the camera, minimal and stylish and I know this shouldn't be so important, but when I see it I just want to pick it up and use it.

annecy_2020-96.jpg