Sony Nex 5 ftw

chiencheng

Hi guys,

I am new to photography and new to forums. I've been doing a lot of research and reading on micro 4/3 and comparing it with Sony NEX 5.

My previous camera was simple point and shoot from Canon. I am taking a trip next month and I wanted to capture with image quality better than compact point and shoot cameras, but SLRs or DSLRs are huge, no way I would take it anywhere. So I came across Micro 4/3s like Panasonic GF1 and Olympus PEN 2. The camera that caught my attention and the one I'm leaning towards is NEX 5.

I read a lot of reviews about NEX menu is not user friendly and not intuitive for users who want full control of camera and etc. I thought it would be fine w/ me since I know nothing of photography. I am just looking for a camera that is better image quality than regular point and shoot and compact like the point and shoot camera.

My question is, during my research I came to learn that Panasonic GF1's pancake lens is a really good lens, I was wondering do I need anything to use the pancake lens from GF1 on NEX 5?

thank you, any advice and opinions is much appreciated

Jerry

Hi Jerry and welcome! You're in luck because there really are quite a bunch of knowledgeable members here that have experience with both formats. I am sure that as in not too long a time you'll get some helpful feedback so please - keep checking back here or subscribe to this thread by using the drop down menu "Thread Tools" if you want email notification.

I don't know that the NEX accepts micro four thirds lenses, such as the Panasonic 20mm but that shouldn't matter at all if you're interested in the NEX. You also need to think about what sorts of photographs you'll be wanting to take on your trip. Will the trip be in cities, the country - a bit of both, etc.? All these things will have bearing upon what sort of lens or lenses you might truly need..or you might do better with a zoom lens.

In the meantime, please make yourself at home!