On buying negatives

Luke

Legend
Name
Luke
I've just run across someone selling negatives of photos of some well known musicians. The photographer is deceased.

I assume that if I buy the negative I am entitled to make a print for my own use. Who owns the "copyright" (not sure if that is the correct word) since the photographer is deceased. Has it "expired"? Does the owner of the negative own the copyright? Could I print off as many as I wanted to sell (legally)?

That is a really interesting question. It's something I've wondered about when watching shows like "Pawn Stars" and others where this very same scenario takes place.

Standard disclaimer.... I'm not a lawyer but play one on the internet.

My guess is your first thought, that you own the physical item but not the rights to reproduce it for profit. The same as if you bought a prototype of a collectible item (eg: in the sci-fi world, you can find prototypes and even the molds of toys & other stuff in the collectibles market), you own that individual item but you don't have the rights to then use that item to reproduce/create new products with the intent of selling them. In the case of a photographer, the rights (which in the US are automatically assigned to the person who took the photo) are likely retained with the estate after death and might even be managed by a media company for licensing.