Personal gear review

Unfortunately GAS comes in many forms. Cameras are just one of the wallet drainers that have afflicted me. As a woodworker, I am constantly plied with catalogs from woodworker supply houses with whom I have done business. Photography has Leica; woodworking has its equivalent in Festool. On a ukulele forum where I participate, UAS is frequently discussed. And during the pandemic, I had lots of parcels coming to our house as I built four different bicycles to stay busy. Ended up selling them for cheap and even donating a couple to just get them out of the house.

Back to photography, weather is supposed to be very spring-like tomorrow, so I'm planning a long bike ride with my new E-P7.

In my experience, GAS does have a top end. In the beginning, I wanted to try all the things. And did, in fact, do so over a period of some five years. I tried small cameras, big cameras, super zooms, primes, compact lenses, professional lenses. With each purchase, I crossed off that category from my GAS chart. Not for me. (Bought and sold used, with no significant losses)

This whittled down my wants quite considerably. I now know what I like, and am much quicker in dismissing things. My last big infatuation was window finders. A year with the X-Pro2 and an analog rangefinder cured me of that. Not worth the added size and weight, and not a large benefit to me. Thankfully, something about the Leica design is terribly ugly to me. I even considered a Pixii for a while, until I learned of the slow startup and realized that a flexible screen is part of my requirements. I have since sold the X-Pro.

IBIS and AI tracking still held an allure, which is now satisfied with the X-T5. We'll see how it goes, but my GAS has waned considerably over the years, to the point where I'm getting bored with new releases. Here's to hoping...