Sony Shooter's RX100 review at f8 blog

My wallet REALLY hates your review.

That was a very very informative review. Thanks a bunch Don. I was wondering about the exact points you touched upon about the RX100.

great user interface review. I'm not a street shooter, but I was still able to glean a LOT from this piece. And thanks especially for the bold in this... "(Sony, please read and understand this. I am not an engineer but I am a photographer and this camera needs this feature to be taken seriously). "

I would assume designers and engineers would work with photographers when designing a camera, but year after year that assumption is proven wrong.

Nice article, even if you don't own an RX100. Those are handy tricks (at least for me) to get the hyperfocal distance set. Unfortunately, the only AF/MF switch on the Q is in the main menu and I can't figure a way to assign it to anything.:confused:

Thanks a lot for all that very practical and sound information :) and hoping quircks will be adressed in future models by sony or others.

I should note that I've raised more than my share of quirks/dislikes with this camera (which I repeated in the comments to Don's post) but I should re-iterate that I ONLY find them a problem or an issue at all when I'm attempting to shoot on the street using zone or hyperfocal shooting. Which is something I do a lot so it matter a lot to me, but for most users who aren't into that type of photography its a fine camera that I'm happy shooting with for any other type of photography. For MY specific wants and needs, I'll probably replace it when one of the other makers comes out with something with equal IQ and an interface more to my liking. But if I didn't do what I do or if I was just less picky, I'd be perfectly happy with this camera...

-Ray