Leica Some thoughts on M5

Hap

Top Veteran
I have been eyeing an M5 for a while now, reading about opinions on the net . Since I have CL and CLE (not real Leicas ...right?) I have some knowledge of using a metered M mount and rather thought the M5 would suit me better than a newer one. there are lots of reasons to consider an M5..need not be enumerated here cuz easy to find opinions and reviews.

Once I had it in my hand....it was large. I got over it. I loved the finder and 50mm frame lines with the spot meter lines around the rf patch. This makes it really easy to move the camera around and meter appropriately. It's nice to see the shutter speeds in the find and the matched needle system works well and intuitively. It really works like an AE type camera.

Sherry Krauter loves the M5...but some of y ou may think that is or is not an endorsement. she has her point.

My experience is such that you have to make some decisions. The meter needs to work or forget it. the repair will kill you. the battery voltage system requires adjustment. I found that the MR9 adapter did not work on the M5 as it did with the CL and my Canonet QL III 17. Can't screw in the battery cap. Wein cells are not a very good solution. Set aside $100.

the R/F........well these cameras can be old and finders age and begin to decement. Some finders flare. I don't quite understand but Leica in its bean counting wisdom started in with removing the anti flare optics in M5.....early models. Folks complained. You can't clean or fix the prism finder capsules, they have to be replaced and leica does not stock parts for M5 replacement. Some "upgrade" to MP finders, incorporating now the 28 frame lines with all the others.... At that point it is not really an M5 any more but some are big proponents. the ticket to play is variable but can be up to 500-600$ depending for this finder improvement.

And then there's the lugs.....good to have three. Two maybe not so good. If you have two....set aside $$.