Sony Some underwater photography with the RX100

mattia

Regular
Thought I'd share a few Sony RX100 shots from my last (half a year ago already!) holiday that involved diving - Mafia Island, Tanzani. Weather was good, but quite frequently a touch overcast so lighting wasn't always ideal.

Gear: Sony RX100, Acquapazza Aluminum scuba housing. In this case no wet lenses (I have a fisheye and macro diopters) because I managed to destroy the lens mount adapter last time I was diving (Zeeland in the Netherlands; surge + rocks = busted adapter). This is a great combo, with the 1" sensor settling in on a sweet spot between good higher ISO performance and reasonable depth of field without having to stop down too far (more = better in most UW settings, where you want to get really close to your subject).

I'm a rank amateur at the whole underwater photography thing, with a mere 29 dives under my belt and only maybe 10 with a camera. It's tougher than land-based photography because you need to really control your own bouyancy and position in the water, get close, and there's funky white balance stuff to deal with. It's even a little outside the default 'range' of adjustability (custom WB errors out without strobes) beyond 6 to 8 meters unless there's bright sunlight, so I've got a red filter for the next trip (Bonaire in March).

Small aside: anyone with the RX100 and the RX100 mk II? Because if the only difference is thickness of the body due to the flip-out screen (i.e. distance from front edge and all button locations, the lens being the same) then I can probably fit a mark II into my housing, which would be a nice 'backup' / upgrade.

Anyway, a few pictures. Click on any one to see the full set. Everything shot in RAW, processed with DxO Optics Pro.

Small squid in the shallows
15144831838_15fb9dc70b_b.jpg
DSC07525_DxO by mattia_v, on Flickr

Seahorse
15331117312_347ba2f859_b.jpg
DSC07556_DxO by mattia_v, on Flickr