Micro 4/3 Want advise to buy GF1 or any other portable DSLR

varunkrish

Hi guys,

Im currently using a Nikon D40 and find it to heavy to carry around. I'm a journalist and want good quality pics but Im having problem carrying D40 as i travel a lot.

Is the Panasonic GF1 good compared to the Olympus Ep1 and Sony Nex ?

What about the Leica X1 ?
________
extreme q

The GF1 is a great camera. It's very similar to the Pen cameras but has an improved AF system.
The IQ is beautiful. The X1 is also a great camera but only if you can live with a fixed Focal Length.

Most shooters will have an X1 but also have another camera with interchangeable lenses or adjustable focal lengths. The discipline of a fixed focal length camera takes
commitment and patience to find your personal vision. This usually takes it's toll on the shooter after a period of time and the lure of different focal lengths takes over.

With either a Pen or the GF1 you'll be cutting your load and still getting the images you want AND have the options of different lenses.
Good luck in your quest.
shooter

With the right lens the GF1 & E-P1&2 can match DSLR's for IQ, no problem. They have the added bonus of being small, light and portable and I much prefer to use a camera of this type rather than lug big gear around wit me.

Pentax make a small DSLR(s) - (the Kx?), and their glass is (very) good and reasonably priced - you can also use all Pentax MF glass from years back - (M screw fitting included) - cheap and good off Ebay

For use as a main camera the lack of a view finder is a big negative for me and I do find the controls on the EP-1 and to a lessor extent the G1, not (nearly) as good as on the DSLRs, (I have a Nikon and a Pentax). Trying to frame with a LCD, particularly in good daylight is not a great experience

The physical size is a big positive for M43, but as your main camera, I personally would go for a G1 or it's latest replacement rather than the EP or GF