Fuji X-T 20 Surprises

Dave Jenkins

Regular
The Beautiful Northwest Georgia Mountains
Name
Dave Jenkins
After using Canon for 24 years as a full-time professional, I sold my entire outfit over the summer and switched to Fuji. (Before selling the Canon stuff, I dipped my toe in the water with an X-Pro 1 and a 16-50 lens.) A few months later I bought an X-T20 and added 18-135mm, 50-230mm, and 27mm lenses. The 27 pretty much lives on the X-Pro 1.

Since I also use Olympus EM5s, I didn't expect the small size of the X-T20 to be a problem; however, I didn't take into consideration the fact that X-system zooms are mostly larger. I bought a leather half-case, so we'll see if that helps with the handling. Makes me wonder if I should have gotten an X-T1 instead -- I can't afford an X-T2.

Last Friday I photographed my first wedding with the Fujis, and I have to say it was not a pleasant experience. The venue was dark, and I found to my dismay that the X-T20 would not work with my Yongnuo 622C flash transmitters. I should have tested that well before the wedding, so that's my bad. The transmitters worked okay with the X-Pro 1, so that's what I used for multi-flash setups. Not what I would have preferred. It missed focus a few times, but did better than I had been led to expect in low light. I missed my Canon.

Since I'm 80, I don't photograph as many weddings as I used to. But I have another one booked in March, so I have to work out the kinks with Fuji or borrow a Canon outfit. I very much want to make the Fujis work, because I'm finding that the X-T20, in particular, is capable of amazing image quality. The accompanying photo is of my granddaughter dancing with the Knoxville Symphony orchestra. The lens was the 50-230 at full extension and the ISO was 6400. A delightful surprise!

An X-T1 might be easier to handle, but I don't want to go backward on image quality. I'll try to find a way to make the X-T20 work.
Marlee Dance 2505- 800x533.jpg